RMW: the blog

Roslyn's photography, art, cats, exploring, writing, life

My Oregon souvenir

39 Comments

roslyn in oregon

I was in Oregon last week on a trip with some friends and members of the Sierra Club.

On the first evening, while five of us were waiting for a table for dinner, we decided to walk around the quaint town of Seaside.

seaside, oregon

I had my camera in one hand, my bag in the other and I was talking instead of looking where I was going. Next thing I knew my forehead met the boardwalk!

This is the photo I took of the boardwalk from the hotel balcony before the big fall.

To make a longer story shorter (you don’t want to know all the details, believe me) I ended up in the ER at the Providence Seaside Hospital.

Needless to say we missed our dinner reservation. I really felt bad for my friends, as they were so kind. They eventually went to dinner but they missed seeing the town and strolling along the beach all because of me.

I’m not quite sure of the timeline but I waited more than an hour to see the doctor (he may have been at dinner!). Then I was wheeled in to get a CAT scan of my head. After that another hour while the scan was sent to Portland to be viewed.

Of course it was a very small ER but everybody was very courteous and attentive. I felt like I was in good hands.

The gentleman in the next bed to mine was obviously drunker than a skunk, and evidently was a frequent visitor as they all seemed to know him. But he was not ignored. The nurses came whenever he called out for help, which was every few minutes.

As I was lying there listening to all this, half of me wanted to have a glass of wine and forget everything. The other half of me, realizing the terrible distress this man was in, never wanted to touch alcohol again! But at the very least I was glad I had not had a glass of wine before our walk so that was not a component of my accident. It’s bizarre all the thoughts that went through my mind as I was waiting.

I also decided I should have changed from my clunky hiking shoes (they are not hiking boots just sturdier shoes with good tread) before leaving the hotel. If I had worn my Asic walking shoes maybe I wouldn’t have tripped. And I should have swapped my heavy DSLR with the 18-135mm lens for my little point & shoot camera. So many “shoulds.” Also, I had not slept the night before. The alarm went off at 2:00am to be ready for the taxi at 4:00am. I am not good without at least 6-8 hours of sleep.

This combination of events all contributed to my fall. Of course I have walked all over Europe and Los Angeles in those same shoes. I’ve carried that camera everywhere. And I have certainly fallen many times before but never hit my head. Who knows what combination of circumstances allowed this to happen.

I like to think of myself as a glass half full kind of person at this point in my life. The CAT scan was clean and I was able to continue with the trip. However, I was a little disappointed that no actual kitties were involved!

Before I knew the results and I was lying there with a truckload of ice on my forehead, I decided that no matter what, I was completing the trip even if I had to do it on a stretcher! I had been looking forward to this Oregon adventure for too long!

The outcome could have been so much worse. No broken bones, no chipped teeth, no sprains. And, most important, I was not dead, or even brain dead (at least I don’t think so…).

The next day I had a little trouble with some words. I was aware they were not coming out properly. But that cleared up. The day after that my vision was a little blurry but that cleared up too.

The photo at the bottom of the post shows my black eyes… otherwise known as my Oregon souvenir! My companions were calling me Alice Cooper and Gene Simmons… but I would rather be Morticia! One of my friends, not on the trip, said “And you should see the other guy!” Yes, that boardwalk will never be the same!

Fortunately, all the clothes I had with me were in shades of blue, purple and grey. So people were commenting on my color coordination. Yes, if I was wearing greens and yellows it would indeed have been a fashion disaster.

I kinda like the photo at the top of the post so I decided to use it as my new profile photo. I cleaned up the mess on my forehead in Photoshop but left the black eyes as they were too difficult to deal with. I don’t think anybody will notice!

I’m still dependent on Tylenol for all the aches and pains that come and go all over my body. But I was able to do some limited hiking and enjoy the rest of the week.

I have an appointment with my doctor on Thursday for a checkup. I feel like I am healing properly but I’m not taking any chances.

The good thing is I am a tough old broad and nothing can take me down that easily!

roslyn swollen face

All photos and content copyright roslyn m wilkins. Please feel free to pass along this post via email or social media, but if you wish to use some of our images or text outside of the context of this blog, either give full credit to myself and link to One Good Life in Los Angeles, or contact us for proper usage. Thanks!

Author: RMW

I am an explorer and creative person. I've had many jobs, careers and interests... everything in life and the universe fascinates me. Born in Brighton, England, I've lived my entire adult life in Los Angeles, California. A few years ago I rediscovered photography which is a great excuse to get outside and look. I'm also in the process of re-writing some of my unpublished short stories and possibly a novel. .

39 thoughts on “My Oregon souvenir

  1. Hey, feel better. We need you here on the los angeles beat.

    Like

  2. Wow! You must have gone down hard. I looked at the top photo and didn’t even notice the black eyes behind the glasses although after you wrote about it, I could see it. It’s still a great photo. Glad you were able to continue your trip. That was one nasty fall.

    Like

  3. !!!? Oh my gosh, looks painful! Hope you heal quick!

    Like

  4. Omg. You ARE lucky. Hope you’re feeling better today.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  5. I looked at the top photo, Ros, and I thought, what did my friend do, something is wrong behind her shades! And I looked at the bottom photo after reading your story and I gave myself the sign of the cross. Ros! You looked as if you were in the ring with a champion fighter. Good gravy, girl!!

    You must have hit that boardwalk with one heck of a thump. I’m glad you’re on the road to recovery. Your spirit is everything, continuing with the Oregon trail. Good for you. Be careful, please and thank you. I need you around, you know.

    Like

    • Thanks Mark. I guess I’ll either have to do some more work in Photoshop or go back to that exact spot later on and take the same photo over again!!!!

      Like

      • You can use it this one. I don’t think it’s that obvious. I’m a hawk at picking these things up from my years as a journalist, if I may hurt my shoulder by patting myself on the back.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Sorry to hear what you went through, Roslyn. I know you are recovering, do take care.

    Like

  7. Oh my goodness, Roslyn, that’s a shocking photo at the end! I’m so sorry, I know how disappointing and chaotic it is to get injured on a long-awaited trip. And head injuries are terrifying. Sounds like you were lucky and optimistic, and I wish you the best in continued healing.

    Like

  8. Oh my, Roslyn! I’m so sorry to hear you took a spill…and a hard one at that. I’m glad you’re okay. I was so happy to see the first photo of you, but not the last. Take care of yourself.

    Like

  9. Wow, I’m so glad you are okay, albeit the boo-boos on your forehead and under your eyes.

    Like

  10. Oh Roslyn, please take care and get well soon. I’ve fallen many times (on unlevelled ground), I feel like getting brown hiking boots, as I don’t even trust sneakers. I’m really glad it’s all clearing out now!

    Like

  11. Holy cow. So sorry that happened. Glad u r wl enuf to write about it😅

    Like

  12. You poor thing! I’ll bet that’s painful. I hope you feel better soon. xo

    Like

  13. Ah, that looks bad to me too. Hope you feel better soon!

    I am sure you and your friends can find an opportunity to enjoy the Oregon beauty again.

    Like

  14. Oh, my! An accident away from home can be even worse. And you are a tough broad! But take care of yourself. I like the profile picture. A fall can happen to any one at any age!!! Thanks for the recent visit to my blog – always appreciated.

    Like

  15. Those are some nasty bruises – glad you are OK (even if a CAT scan does not involve real cats, which would certainly help make people feel better).

    Like

  16. Oh my, I am so sorry to what happened to you. I hope by now the bruises are gone. Glad to know the “Cats scans” have given you great remedy 🙂 pets are awesome 🙂

    Like

  17. That was a nasty fall. But happy nothing serious was wrong and that you could complete your trip. I hope you feel better soon.

    Like

  18. Sorry to hear about your crash. Hopefully the next time you make it to Oregon you’ll bring home a more pleasant souvenir.
    PS: Nice job on the Cathedral Park photos.

    Like

    • Thanks, Dave… I have some good memories of beautiful places so those are my real souvenirs…. along with my photos that I’ll gradually be posting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

