RMW: the blog

Roslyn's photography, art, cats, exploring, writing, life

Holy Cross Cemetery: looking at trees

Leave a comment

It’s no secret that walking is my favorite form of exercise. It used to be riding my bicycle. That was a different period of my life when I enjoyed hurtling along the bike path feeling the ocean air against my face. It was a feeling of joyous freedom and I couldn’t imagine ever giving it up.

culver city holy cross trees

The day came, due to numerous injuries, mostly from running, I had to surrender my bicycle. But I don’t mind. I’ve always enjoyed walking anyway.

It's no secret that walking is my favorite form of exercise. It used to be riding my bicycle. That was a different period of my life when I enjoyed hurtling along the bike path feeling the ocean air against my face. It was a feeling of joyous freedom and I couldn't imagine ever giving it up.Walking is a whole different spiritual experience from riding a bike or running. It slows everything down and allows for an in-depth inspection and appreciation of the world. culver city holy cross treesNow that I am “back” into photography…. not that I ever really left… riding a bike or running doesn’t correlate with carrying a camera. I enjoy stopping and looking. Really looking at the details.

culver city holy cross trees

On Sunday I was a little down for various reasons… I didn’t have any plans (which is not a bad thing) but I couldn’t shake the feelings of doom and gloom hanging over me. I had various choices: stay in bed all day, time how long it would take to consume a whole bottle of vodka, binge-watch episodes of a TV show on Netflix… you get the picture… nothing hit me as being satisfying.

culver city holy cross trees

I know the best medicine for me is always to get dressed, pick up the camera and go outside for a walk. As I needed to take care of some errands that required driving my car (most of the time she sits in the garage while I take public transportation) I decided I might as well visit Holy Cross Cemetery, a short drive from my house in Culver City. I used to live within a short walk but now it’s really too much of a haul on foot, even for an intrepid walker like myself.

culver city holy cross trees

Not to seem too morbid but I enjoy the peace and solitude of the cemetery. It is beautifully landscaped with some good views of the mountains, ocean, etc. No matter what kind of crazy mood I am in I always leave there feeling glad to be alive. Grateful I am above ground and not under it.

culver city holy cross trees

On other days I’ve taken pictures of the landscape, the views and the grave stones. On this day I had my 60mm macro lens on my camera. There are some amazing tree trunks in the cemetery so I decided to concentrate on those.

culver city holy cross trees

I appreciate abstract art. Mother Nature seems to enjoy it too.

culver city holy cross treesTree trunks provide a never-ending variety of abstract patterns and designs.

culver city holy cross trees

I never tire of looking at them. And as I didn’t have to be anywhere in particular I was able to take my time standing and staring at these wonderful works of art.

culver city holy cross trees

Whenever I spend time at Holy Cross I tell myself I must come back more often. And then I don’t. But I know it is always waiting there to offer an oasis in the midst of a harried day.

culver city holy cross trees

Okay, I must come back more often!

All photos and content copyright roslyn m wilkins. Please feel free to pass along this post via email or social media, but if you wish to use some of our images or text outside of the context of this blog, either give full credit to myself and link to One Good Life in Los Angeles, or contact us for proper usage. Thanks!

 

Author: RMW

I am an explorer and creative person. I've had many jobs, careers and interests... everything in life and the universe fascinates me. Born in Brighton, England, I've lived my entire adult life in Los Angeles, California. A few years ago I rediscovered photography which is a great excuse to get outside and look. I'm also in the process of re-writing some of my unpublished short stories and possibly a novel. .

Leave a Reply

