RMW: the blog

Roslyn's photography, art, cats, exploring, writing, life

A stroll through Pasadena

Leave a comment

PasadenaLast weekend I met a group of fellow walking enthusiasts at Union Station. We took the Gold Line out to Pasadena, a city of just under 140,000 inhabitants about ten miles north of downtown Los Angeles.

Above is a photo of the Salvation Army band playing Christmas music. As you must know by now I don’t subscribe to any religious myths but I always support the Salvation Army this time of year as they do good work.

Pasadena

Pasadena has the distinction of being the fourth city in Los Angeles County to be incorporated (1886).

Pasadena

And, of course, the Rose Parade is the event that Pasadena is most famous for.

Pasadena

You can see my previous blog post about Pasadena’s Greene and Greene architecture here. Which the above photo obviously is not, just some interesting architecture… my guess would be the 1920s give or take… Art Deco on the left and what I call Southern California Eclectic on the right!

Pasadena

We got off the train at the Memorial Park station… and lo and behold, the park was a mere few footsteps away. Memorial Park is about 5 1/4 acres and is home to Levitt Pavilion which hosts free summer concerts.

Below are some photos of that area: click on any photo to start the slideshow.

Pasadena

The Blind Donkey hangs out on Union Street. They have quite a whiskey menu if that is what you are into. I’ll stick to vino, thank you!

We passed some lovely Art Deco and Beaux Artes buildings on our way to the Paseo Colorado shopping center for lunch. I always cringe when I see a modern building and wonder what architectural splendor had to be knocked down in order to build it. I wish I could say our sensibilities were different today than they were in the 1960s or 1970s when so many beautiful “out of date” structures met the wrecking ball but unfortunately that is not the case.

Please click on one of the images below to start the slideshow:

We eventually made our way over to the Paseo Colorado shopping center. Colorado Boulevard is on the Rose Parade route. The boulevard has some nice older buildings (1920s, give or take a few).

PasadenaThe Pacific Asia Museum which has a wonderful permanent collection as well as innovative events. Worth the effort to get there in my opinion.

Pasadena

A short walk and we were at the Civic Center. City Hall and all that stuff. Click on image to start the slideshow:

Pasadena

Pasadena

An office building that was apparently once a church with stained glass windows.

Back to the Memorial Park train station and the Gold Line to downtown Los Angeles. This gentleman insisted on walking in front of my camera so here he is in perpetuity!

Pasadena

All photos and content copyright roslyn m wilkins. Please feel free to pass along this post via email or social media, but if you wish to use some of our images or text outside of the context of this blog, either give full credit to myself and link to One Good Life in Los Angeles, or contact us for proper usage. Thanks!

Author: RMW

I am an explorer and creative person. I've had many jobs, careers and interests... everything in life and the universe fascinates me. Born in Brighton, England, I've lived my entire adult life in Los Angeles, California. A few years ago I rediscovered photography which is a great excuse to get outside and look. I'm also in the process of re-writing some of my unpublished short stories and possibly a novel. .

Leave a Reply

