One Good Life in Los Angeles

Roslyn's observations about places and events around Southern California

Introducing One Good Life Travels… and my struggle with Lightroom

Leave a comment

miami

I visited Miami in April, 2013. Here we are in October and I still had not posted any of the photos. Part of the reason is because my main blog is called One Good Life in Los Angeles and whenever I create a blog post about a trip outside of southern California, it doesn’t seem right.

So, I decided to start a new blog called One Good Life Travels. Some of my photos of Miami are now posted at http://onegoodlifetravels.wordpress.com/2013/10/31/miami-an-unexpected-love-affair-part-one/. I’m having a few issues with missing widgets but hopefully I can get this all sorted out.

The other obstacle has been my attempt to learn Adobe Lightroom. I have a pretty good workflow set up with Bridge and Photoshop and it’s been very hard for me to get past that. Sadly, I have an acute lack of time for working on anything that requires learning something new. It’s just faster to do something that I am familiar with.

But I needed a better way to catalog and keyword my photos, not to mention embedding copyright information and other metadata. And, of course, probably most  important, Photoshop doesn’t read RAW images. So as it seems Lightroom is the industry standard, especially for Photoshop users, I decided to hang in there. (Other people I talked to recommended “easier” programs but I didn’t want to go lurching off in another direction.)

After two years of “trying” I finally decided it was make it or break it time. I had to get my head around this program. And last week I had a breakthrough. I was able to plow through my mental block. I still start out in Bridge for uploading and batch naming my photos. Then I add those folders to the Lightroom catalog and get to work.

Lightroom is not intuitive for me and I have to force myself to stay out of Photoshop for the time being until I have seen everything that it can do for me. And I am sure I am using Lightoom in inappropriate ways. But at this point in time I am happy to be using it after having it sitting on my computer all this time.

So I hope having a separate blog for my travel photos will work out and not turn into one more thing I don’t have time for!

All photos and content copyright roslyn m wilkins. Please feel free to pass along this post via email or social media, but if you wish to use some of our images or text outside of the context of this blog, either give full credit to myself and link to One Good Life in Los Angeles, or contact us for proper usage. Thanks!

 

Author: RMW

I am an explorer and creative person. I've had many jobs, careers and interests... everything in life and the universe fascinates me. Born in Brighton, England, I've lived my entire adult life in Los Angeles. Recently I rediscovered photography and I am busy learning everything I can about it. It's a great excuse for getting outside, wandering around and stopping to look at things.

Leave a Reply

