One Good Life in Los Angeles

Roslyn's observations about places and events around Southern California

USC and Dogs

Leave a comment

usc george tirebiter

USC and Dogs? On my blog? First of all I am a UCLA grad. And I am a cat person.

Today I took the Expo Line train to the University of Southern California to see the The California Art Club: 102nd Annual Gold Medal Juried Exhibition at the USC Fisher Museum of Art.

The train stops right outside the museum, how convenient is that? So knowing that, I am going to keep a close eye on their calendar for future exhibitions. The museum is also free so it can’t get much better.

No photography was allowed in the museum so you will have to take my word for it that it was worth the time and effort to go.

Copied from the website: The California Art Club presents its hallmark exhibition at the USC Fisher Museum of Art for the very first time. This much-anticipated display of contemporary-traditional fine art spotlights nearly 200 never-before-seen works of art of genres ranging from quintessential California landscapes and seascapes to figures and still life.

I am not really crazy about traditional art as in painted landscapes, but I really did enjoy the variety of artistic styles. There was even a collage which was unexpected.

All I can do is tell you that if you live in the Los Angeles area and you like art, don’t hesitate to hop on the train or bus and see this exhibit. It runs through June 23, 2013.

USC george tirebiter

So what about the dogs? Well, really it is one dog. When I entered the USC campus I was greeted by the statue of George Tirebiter. If you can’t read the enscription it says:

George Tirebiter was a shaggy mutt who – for a few glorious years in the ’40s and ’50s – became a beloved Trojan mascot.

No one is quite sure when George wandered onto campus, but his feisty personality made him a student favorite as he chased cars and bit tires along University Avenue, not far from where you stand.

He was taken to football games in a limousine where he led the Trojan marching band onto the field, often wearing sweaters and odd little hats. He once drew the cheers of thousands when he bit the mask of UCLA mascot, Joe Bruin, on the nose.

Rumor has it there is a transcript on file showing George with a GPA of 3.2 in such courses as Chasing Cats 101 and Biting Tires 270.

Of all the great USC mascots, none had the bite of George Tirebiter.

Cute little guy, isn’t he? For a dog!

USC george tirebiter

usc george tirebiter

usc george tirebiter

Please click on all the photos for a larger view.

All photos and content copyright roslyn m wilkins. Please feel free to pass along this post via email or social media, but if you wish to use some of our images or text outside of the context of this blog, please check with us first for proper usage. Thanks!

Author: RMW

I am an explorer and creative person. I've had many jobs, careers and interests... everything in life and the universe fascinates me. Born in Brighton, England, I've lived my entire adult life in Los Angeles. Recently I rediscovered photography and I am busy learning everything I can about it. It's a great excuse for getting outside, wandering around and stopping to look at things.

Leave a Reply

