RMW: the blog

Roslyn's photography, art, cats, exploring, writing, life

Sparkling Christmas stars at Marina del Rey

Leave a comment

marina-del-rey
The lunch buffet at Shanghai Red’s in Marina del Rey is always a treat. It had been raining all last night and this morning was showery and grey. So I didn’t have too much hope for the view from our table.

I piled my plate high with salmon, chicken, green beans, refried beans, turkey, cranberry sauce, guacamole, garlicky mashed potatoes and shrimp. Yes, all on the same plate I am not ashamed to say.

Even though I no longer eat bread I couldn’t resist the crunchy bread in the basket with the wonderful cheesy pesto they make. And I ate the bread pudding for dessert.

When I eat at Shanghai Red’s I prepare my stomach to accept all kinds of food I normally wouldn’t eat. And I enjoy myself with no regrets.

Shortly after we arrived at the restaurant the sun broke through. No more gloom. We had our standard southern California sunny Christmas weather.

So after stuffing ourselves to the point where we couldn’t put another morsel into our mouths, we walked the length of Fisherman’s Village. The seagulls and pelicans seemed to be enjoying the sunshine as much as we were.

I took this photo with my trusty point and shoot camera straight into the sun. So the exposure is a little off but I loved the way the camera lens picked up the “Christmas stars” sparkling in the water.

Merry Christmas to you all!

Author: RMW

I am an explorer and creative person. I've had many jobs, careers and interests... everything in life and the universe fascinates me. Born in Brighton, England, I've lived my entire adult life in Los Angeles, California. A few years ago I rediscovered photography which is a great excuse to get outside and look. I'm also in the process of re-writing some of my unpublished short stories and possibly a novel. .

Leave a Reply

