RMW: the blog

Roslyn's photography, art, cats, exploring, writing, life

My favorite time of year at Culver City’s Holy Cross Cemetery

Leave a comment

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

Holy Cross Cemetery is one of my favorite places to walk. Some of the hills are quite steep, some a little more gentle. The views are always spectacular. And even on a foggy or smoggy day when it’s hard to see the mountains or the ocean, there are the beautiful trees to look at.

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

But my favorite time of year is around Christmas. Holy Cross is a Catholic Cemetery and therefore quite a few hispanic people are spending eternity in the ground… at least their bodies are. The nice part of their belief system is that the deceased continue on as members of the family and are commemorated as such.

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

So at Christmas the graves are decorated just as if the corpses lying beneath the grass can appreciate the ribbons and flowers and baubles placed there by their relatives. I think it’s a lovely tradition. Whole families will set up folding chairs, have picnics and enjoy music. It’s like they are saying, yes you have left this earthly realm but you are still alive with us.

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

Although I walk around the cemetery during the year as it is a convenient stop for me on the way home, I make a special effort to drive over there at this time of year.

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

The sad part is the section reserved for babies and children. What could have happened to a three-month-old baby or a five-year-old boy or a nineteen-year-old young lady just starting her life?

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

One of my favorite spots is the Grotto filled with votive candles. Over the years I stopped there many times asking the Universe for favors.

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

Then I heard Dr. Wayne Dyer say you can’t use the Universe (or God or the Creative Force, or whatever you want to call it) like an ATM machine expecting to get something out of it all the time. That made me stop and think.

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

My life completely changed when I started being grateful for everything in my life rather than asking for things I didn’t have, which merely emphasized what was missing. Now my glass is half full instead of half empty. In fact, it is full to the top.

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

So, even though I still have my bad days, now when I walk through the cemetery I feel fortunate that I survived this long and can walk among the grave stones rather than being buried under one.

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

culver-city-holy-cross-cemetery-2012

(Photos copyright roslyn m wilkins)

Author: RMW

I am an explorer and creative person. I've had many jobs, careers and interests... everything in life and the universe fascinates me. Born in Brighton, England, I've lived my entire adult life in Los Angeles, California. A few years ago I rediscovered photography which is a great excuse to get outside and look. I'm also in the process of re-writing some of my unpublished short stories and possibly a novel. .

Leave a Reply

