One Good Life in Los Angeles

Roslyn's observations about places and events around Southern California

Dickens Village rises once again in Culver City

Leave a comment

dickens-village

Every year I buy another piece or two for my Department 56 Dickens Village. Sometimes it’s a building like Ebenezer Scrooge’s House or Camden Road Fish & Chips. Some years a new resident for the Village such as the Lavender Lady or the pub patrons.

And every year I say I can’t buy anymore pieces as there is no more room. But somehow I squeeze them in. But this year I have to say it again… I really have no more room. Unless I build an addition to my condo and let the village have its own room. That would be cool!

I started the Dicken’s Village about twelve years ago when I was fed up with dragging a Christmas tree home only to have one of my four-legged roommates attempt to redecorate it.

The cats are pretty respectful of the Village… until this year when I discovered Mr. Dickens himself on the floor broken in half. But he will be mended in time for him to enjoy his Christmas dinner.

The photo at the top of the page was taken without a flash.

dickens-village

This one was taken with a flash.

When I have my Dickens Village set up andI turn on the lights I know it is Christmas!

(Photos copyright roslyn m wilkins)

Author: RMW

I am an explorer and creative person. I've had many jobs, careers and interests... everything in life and the universe fascinates me. Born in Brighton, England, I've lived my entire adult life in Los Angeles. Recently I rediscovered photography and I am busy learning everything I can about it. It's a great excuse for getting outside, wandering around and stopping to look at things.

Leave a Reply

