RMW: the blog

Roslyn's photography, art, cats, exploring, writing, life

The action of one that walks

Leave a comment

Walking

Merriam-Webster’s Online Dictionary

Main Entry: 1walk·ing

Pronunciation: \ˈwȯ-kiŋ\

Function: noun

Date: 14th century

1 : the action of one that walks <walking is good exercise>
2 : the condition of a surface for one going on foot <the walking is slippery>

Ah, yes, my favorite form of exercise that is taken away from me from time to time. Four weeks ago I sprained my ankle. Not the first time I have sprained, strained, or broken some part of my anatomy. Not even the first, second, third, or fourth time I have sprained that same ankle. I am used to it. My mind is athletic but my body is not. However, this was particularly annoying as I was not enjoying myself playing tennis or running, or bicycling, or even doing something stupid like rushing down the stairs without looking where I was going.

I was merely walking down the stairs at a normal pace. When I reached the last stair, just like in the commercial by a local hospital I heard pop, pop, pop. The next day my ankle swelled up like a melon and turned black. In due time it turned purple, then yellow. A couple of days after the event I heard the previously mentioned commercial on the radio. I was scared as I thought the radio was talking to me, like I was on The Twilight Zone. Oowee. But the second time I heard it I realized it was just a commercial and not directed at me specifically. What a relief!

During the past few weeks, of course, I have had various stages of recovery. Yesterday I actually walked two miles. Today I walked another mile. I am very slow but able to walk without my cane. I am very grateful to walk at all.

Walking is my favorite form of exercise. It is my favorite pastime. Without walking I don’t know what I would do with myself. Of all the gifts I have in this life, walking is the most important. I realize that and am grateful for that. I am not a religious person but if I had to worship any god it would be the god of walking, whoever that is. So thank you, the god of walking!

Soon I hope to be back walking and touring around Los Angeles.

Author: RMW

I am an explorer and creative person. I've had many jobs, careers and interests... everything in life and the universe fascinates me. Born in Brighton, England, I've lived my entire adult life in Los Angeles, California. A few years ago I rediscovered photography which is a great excuse to get outside and look. I'm also in the process of re-writing some of my unpublished short stories and possibly a novel. .

Leave a Reply

