RMW: the blog

Roslyn's photography, art, cats, exploring, writing, life

Time out for the World Cup

Leave a comment

I will be so glad when the FIFA World Cup is over and I can get my life back.  I am really not a sports fan and when I tell my friends I am glued to the computer screen watching football games, they are mostly incredulous. While I do admit to watching the occasional NASCAR race or cycling tour, sports are not high on my radar.

However, if I was going to be a spectator sports maniac, my game of choice would have to be football, “the beautiful game,” otherwise known as soccer in the United States. As I write this I am doing my best to keep track of two games: England vs Slovenia and USA vs Algeria on ESPN’s split screen. I have the sound up on the England game… and they scored! Yes! Okay, let’s keep it up.

As I’m listening to the sound on the England game I am watching camera shots of Bill Clinton sitting in the stands over on the US game. Very confusing. So now I want to see a goal from the US. I’m sure when they do the cameras will be on Bill celebrating!

As I imagine is true of many people watching the World Cup, my loyalties are split between two countries, which in my case are the United States and England. I was happy when the two sides tied last week. But of the two teams, who would I most like to win the cup? That’s a tough one. As this game is such an intrinsic part of English life, a win for them would probably have more meaning. On the other hand, a US win would encourage the support of soccer in this country. Fortunately, or unfortunately, depending on how you might look at it, I probably don’t have to worry about that scenario!

Soccer is, of course, a very physical sport. A couple of weeks ago I sprained my ankle so I feel every fall, slide, and collision of the players on the pitch. As soon as I can once again walk without too much pain I’ll be back writing about my favorite subject, touring around Los Angeles.

Update: A surprise win by the US over Algeria in the last minutes of the match has put the Americans through to the next round as the leaders in their group! Woohoo!

Author: RMW

I am an explorer and creative person. I've had many jobs, careers and interests... everything in life and the universe fascinates me. Born in Brighton, England, I've lived my entire adult life in Los Angeles, California. A few years ago I rediscovered photography which is a great excuse to get outside and look. I'm also in the process of re-writing some of my unpublished short stories and possibly a novel. .

Leave a Reply

